Group email 02/02/2015

 

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT I HAVE BEEN ON MISSION FOR A WHOLE 10 WEEKS!! IT IS TOTES CRAZY MAN!!

ANYWAYS I COULDNT REALLY THINK ABOUT WHAT I WOULD WRITE ABOUT!! BUT HEY EVERYTHING IS GOOD HERE NOW!! HOPEFULLY IT WILL STAY THAT WAY! THEY ARE EXPECTING MORE FLOODS COMING UP SOON SO KEEP MALAWI IN YOUR PRAYERS!!!

HERE IS A FUNNY STORY THAT HAPPENED ON EXCHANGES THIS WEEK!

“HELLO SISTER, WHAT IS YOUR NAME?”

“HI!” I REPLY STARTLED AT THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF A MUSLIM MAN! “I’M SISTER BROWNING. WHAT IS YOUR NAME?”

“GOD.”

“WHAT?” I REPLY THINKING I MISHEARD

“GOD.” HE REPEATS, SO MATTER OF FACTUALLY.

“YOUR PARENTS GAVE YOU THAT NAME?” ASKS SISTER MNTUNWA

“NO.”

“THEN WHY DO YOU SAY IT IS YOUR NAME?”

“BECAUSE I AM JESUS.” HE CLEARLY STATES.

WE SIT AND TRY TO HOLD IN OUR LAUGH!!

“DID YOU TELL YOUR PARENTS YOU’RE JESUS CHRIST?” SHE ASKS.

“YES I DID.”

“AND WHAT DID THEY SAY?”

“THEY TOLD ME I NEED TO STOP TELLING PEOPLE THAT.”

THE WHOLE TIME I AM SOOOOO CONFUSED!! MUSLIMS DONT EVEN ACKNOWLEDGE JESUS AS THE SON OF GOD. WHY IS THIS MAN SAYING THIS!?

“SISTER,” HE LOOKS AT ME “ARE YOU MARRIED?”

OH NO HERE IT COMES AGAIN!! STANDARD RESPONSE “YES, I AM MARRIED TO GOD FOR THE NEXT 15 MONTHS!”

“I AM GOD!!” HE REPLIES! MY COMPANION’S LOST IT AT THIS POINT.

“NO, I AM NOT MARRIED! BUT I DONT PLAN ON BEING MARRIED FOR A WHILE!”

“LETS ALL TAKE A PICTURE!” SISTER DLAMINI SAYS COMING TO MY RESCUE!JESUS!

AFTER THE PICTURE THE CONFUSED MAN SAYS “I WOULD REALLY LIKE YOUR NUMBER THAT WAY WE CAN TALK ABOUT MY EXPECTATIONS OF MARRIAGE.” I JUST LOST IT! I DIDN’T TRY TO! I JUST COULDNT HELP IT!!! THIS GUY!!!

I SWEAR, WHEN I GET HOME I AM GOING TO BE TOTALLY DEPRESSED! I WON’T HAVE DAILY PROPOSALS I WON’T EVEN HAVE GUYS ASK ME OUT EVERY DAY!! LIFE WILL BE HARD!! I WAS THINKING THOUGH, I THINK I WILL HAVE A HARD TIME NOT SEEING BLACK PEOPLE EVERYWHERE!! THAT WILL BE VERY WEIRD!! SOMETIMES I DON’T EVEN REMEMBER I AM WHITE! PEOPLE STARE AND I AM THINKING “WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING AT?” THEN I REMEMBER!! LIFE AS A MISSIONARY! MAN!!

NOW FOR A SPIRITUAL THOUGHT:

SO THIS WEEK WE WERE ABLE TO HAVE CARL COOK, THE AREA 70, COME AND TEACH US. HE WAS A VERY NICE MAN! I LEARNED A LOT! HE TAUGHT ME A LOT ABOUT MYSELF! SO ONE THING I HAVE REALLY BEEN WORKING ON IS “FORGETTING MYSELF AND GOING TO WORK.” THIS HAS BEEN A STRUGGLE. THAT IS SOMETHING THAT IS A LOT HARDER THAN YOU’D THINK. GROWING UP I ALWAYS THOUGHT OF MYSELF US UNSELFISH! I COULDN’T HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG. A MISSION HAS TAUGHT ME THAT EVEN IF I DO SELFLESS THINGS ONCE IN A WHILE DOESN’T MAKE ME SELFLESS. SO, LATELY I HAVE BEEN TALKING WITH MY HEAVENLY FATHER AND PRAYING FOR OPPORTUNITIES TO SERVE. I WANT TO BE ABLE TO SERVE ALL THE TIME. IT IS HARD. IT HAS BEEN A HUMBLING EXPERIENCE. SO ALL THIS IS HAPPENING AND I GO INTO THE MISSION TOUR READY TO HEAR FROM ELDER COOK. HE TALKED TO US ABOUT BECOMING SELFLESS. BUT THEN HE TALKED ABOUT HOW WE CAN BE HARD ON OURSELVES AND ABOUT HOW THINGS WILL HAPPEN IN THE LORD’S TIME. SO THAT IS WHAT I AM IMPLEMENTING NOW. NOT BEING HARD ON MYSELF. AM I SELFISH? YES, OF COURSE I AM. I SPENT 19 YEARS OF MY LIFE NOT HAVING TO WORRY ABOUT ANYONE BUT MYSELF. BUT I AM WORKING ON IT AND TRYING EVERYDAY TO IMPROVE. THE LORD WILL PROVIDE. I KNOW HE WILL! THAT IS WHAT I LEARNED. SO I HAVE A PLAN OF ACTION NOW. EVERY MORNING I GET ON MY KNEES AND ASK FOR THE GIFT OF CHARITY. I ASK FOR OPPORTUNITIES TO HELP ME IMPROVE. THEN AS I GO THROUGHOUT THE DAY I TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THOSE OPPORTUNITIES THE LORD GIVES ME. THEN EVERY NIGHT I REPORT TO HEAVENLY FATHER. I THANK HIM FOR TRUSTING ME WITH HIS CHILDREN AND I TELL HIM ABOUT HOW I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF THE OPPORTUNITIES HE HAS GIVEN ME. THEN I APOLOGIZE FOR THE THINGS I COULD’VE DONE BETTER. THEN AFTER PRAYER I TAKE OUT MY BOOK OF MORMON I READ FROM IT EVERY NIGHT AND I FOCUS ON CHARITY. EVERYTHING THAT EXHIBITS CHARITY I UNDERLINE. THEN I START AGAIN IN THE MORNING.

SO YOU GUYS CAN DO THIS TOO. CHOOSE SOMETHING YOU WANT TO IMPROVE ON AND THEN CHANGE IT!!! I LOVE THIS GOSPEL MY FRIENDS!!! I REALLY DO!!

LOVE YOU ALL!! 🙂 YOU ARE THE BESTEST EVER!!

LOVE NEICIA BROWNING!!

Leave a Reply

