Group email 3/16/2015

SPIRITUAL AND TEMPORAL DEATH

WELL THIS WEEK WAS ONE OF THE BEST ON MISSION! IT WAS A WEEK OF TRIALS, BUT IT WAS ALSO A WEEK OF STRENGTH! LIKE THE SUBJECT OF THIS EMAIL SUGGESTS I ALMOST DIED A NUMBER OF TIMES! THAT WAS FUN! MAYBE I SHOULD JUST START WITH MONDAY. BEWARE THIS WILL PROBABLY BE LONG!

MONDAY: (DEATH FREE DAY) WE CELEBRATED MY COMPS BIRTHDAY WITH ALL THE SISTERS IN THE ZONE! THAT WAS FUN! THEY ALL CAME TO OUR FLAT AND WE HAD HAMBURGERS WITH REAL BACON! THAT ONLY COST THE EQUIVALENT OF A SMALL AMERIKAN (AS THEY SPELL IT HERE) CHILD! TOTALLY WORTH IT! I WOULD GLADLY GIVE UP JAIDE IF IT MEANT I GOT MORE BACON! (JUST KIDDING JESSICA YOU KNOW I LOVE YOU!) WE HAD A TON OF FOOD LEFT OVER THAT GOT DEDICATED TO THE FLAT! THAT MEANT ME! 😉 FOOOOD!
THAT NIGHT I DECIDED I SHOULD FIGURE OUT SOMETHING FOR MY COMPS BIRTHDAY! I HAD ALREADY BOUGHT HER A SMALL ONE DIRECTION PIECE OF CANDY THAT COST THE SAME MUCH AS THE BACON! (THERE GOES MCKENNA) I WANTED TO DO MORE THEN A SMALL PIECE OF CANDY THOUGH! SO I GOT A PLAN IN MY HEAD AND DRANK A TON OF WATER!
TUESDAY: MY COMPS BIRTHDAY! MY DAY STARTED AT 2 IN THE MORNING WHEN I WOKE UP HAVING TO GO TO THE RESTROOM! THE WATER HAD DONE ITS JOB BY WAKING ME UP! (INSPIRED BY MOTHER) SO I WAS UP AND SISTER GRIFFUS WAS ASLEEP! SO I WENT TO THE KITCHEN AND MADE COOKIES AND SET UP A SCAVENGER HUNT! FINALLY GOT BACK TO BED AT ABOUT 3:15 AND DIDN’T GO BACK TO SLEEP TILL 4!! WOKE UP AT 6:30 AND THEN FELL BACK ASLEEP ON ACCIDENT ON MY COUCH! JUST FOR 20 MINS BUT THAT WAS 20 MINS I NEEDED… GOT UP QUICK QUICK AND GOT TO WORK IN THE KITCHEN AGAIN! MY COMP COMES OUT OF THE BATHROOM WITH SOME CANDY AND HER 1ST CLUE DIRECTING HER TO THE COUCH! THERE SHE IS DIRECTED TO TURN ON THE TV WHEN I HAD A HAPPY BIRTHDAY SONG ON FOR HER! AND FOR AN ADDED BONUS ELVIS PRESLEY SINGING HOW GREAT THOU ART! THEN SHE WAS DIRECTED TO A PLATE OF PANCAKES I JUST WHIPPED UP FROM SCRATCH! AFTER SHE WAS DIRECTED TO GET DRESSED SO WE COULD GO TO ZONE MEETING! SHE WAS GIVEN A PICTURE OF A DOG! STILL DON’T KNOW WHY A DOG BUT SHE LIKED IT SO, OH WELL!
WELL WE WERE LATE FOR THE MEETING AND ENDED HAVING TO RUN! EVIDENTLY WE ARE OUT OF SHAPE! NICE TO KNOW! FINALLY GOT THERE AND HAD A VERY SPIRITUAL MEETING! DURING THE MEETING SISTER GRIFFUS OPENED HER PREACH MY GOSPEL BOOK WHICH CONTAINED HER NEXT CLUE THING! SO AFTER THE MEETING SHE WENT UP TO THE MISSIONARY THE CLUE DIRECTED AND SAID THE MAGIC WORD! “OSTRICH” THE MISSIONARY PROCEEDED TO SING HER HAPPY BIRTHDAY! HE IS THE BEST SINGER EVER MAN! HIS BROTHER IS IN VOCAL POINT SO YOU CAN ONLY IMAGINE! THEN HE GAVE HER HER NEXT CLUE TELLING HER TO HAVE PATIENCE FOR HER NEXT STEP! THEN WE ALL ATE CAKE! 3 CAKES ACTUALLY!
THEN WE WENT TO THE AREA! AND TAUGHT A GIRL ABOUT PATIENCE! I STRATEGICALLY PLACED HER NEXT ONE IN A CHAPTER IN THE SCRIPTURES I KNEW SHE WOULD TURN TO! I WAS RIGHT! SHE WAS DIRECTED TO A BREAD SHOP! WE WENT THERE ON OUR WAY HOME! I BOUGHT YUMMY BREAD FOR OUR DINNER AND SHE WAS GIVEN A PICTURE OF A CHICKEN! OBVIOUSLY SHE WENT TO OUR FREEZER AND GOT OUT OUR CHICKEN! I PROCEEDED TO MAKE OUR FAVORITE DINNER CHICKEN SALAD! I PLACED HER NEXT CLUE IN A SMALL ZIPLOCK BAG AND PUT IT IN THE SALAD BURIED SO SHE COULDN’T SEE! THEN SHE FOUND IT AND WAS DIRECTED TO THE PLACE WHERE WE KEEP THE SNACKS! SHE WAS AMAZED AT MY AMAZING SECRET BAKING SKILLS! THEN SHE WAS DIRECTED TO GO LOOK UNDER HER BED! WHERE SHE WAS DIRECTED TO HER PILLOW WHERE I HAD HID HER ONE DIRECTION CANDY! SHE FLIPPED! THAT GIRL AND ONE DIRECTION! WELL, THAT WAS IT! FUN DAY!

WEDNESDAY: THIS WAS JUST A BORING OL’ DAY WHERE I WENT OUT ALL DAY TO TEACH THE WORDS OF GOD! SATAN REALLY LIKE TO TRY AND GET US ON THESE DAYS! WE WERE VERY TIRED AND VERY HOT! HE REALLY TRIED TO DRAG US DOWN! ALL OUR LESSONS WERE CANCELLED BUT WE STAYED FAITHFUL AND ENDED UP STILL BEING ABLE TO TEACH 3 LESSONS AND CONTACT SOME PEOPLE! WE STOPPED BY THE MEETING HOUSE TO USE THE RESTROOMS AND ON OUR WAY BACK WE HAD AN INTERESTING EXPERIENCE!
I WALKED OUT THE DOOR AND TURNED TO MAKE SURE I STILL HAD MY COMP WITH ME. WHEN I LOOKED AT HER I SAW HER HORRIFIED EXPRESSION. NATURALLY, I THINK ABOUT WHAT HORRIFIED ME! I SCANNED THE GROUND SEARCHING FOR A MAMBA OR A BIG SPIDER. THEN I LOOK BACK AT HER AND SHE IS LOOKING AT THE GROUND TOO! I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT SHE SEES BUT IT MUST BE SCARY SO I JUST SCREAMED CAUSE I WAS SCARED. THEN SHE SCREAMED TOO! SHE RAN IN TO THE MEETING HOUSE AND CLOSED THE GATE (STILL DON’T KNOW WHY! THAT OFFERS NO PROTECTION WITH ALL THE GAPING HOLES!) AND I JUST TOOK OFF RUNNING! DON’T KNOW WHY BUT I WAS RUNNING RELATIVELY SLOW! THEN I JUST HEAR LAUGHING. I STOP AND TURN AND SEE HER JUST LAUGHING!!! I DIED TOO! LAUGHED UNTIL MY STOMACH WAS IN PAIN! THEN FINALLY SHE OPENED THE GATE AND SAID IT WAS JUST A GUAVA PEAL!
EVIDENTLY SHE HIT HER LEG ON THIS BAR STICKING OUT OF THE DOOR WAY (THAT HAPPENS OFTEN WITH HER) AND I SAW HER FACE IN PAIN AND THEN SHE SAW ME LOOKING HORRIFIED AT THE FLOOR AND THEN SHE STARTED LOOKING AND THEN WE JUST SCREAMED AND RAN! THEN SHE REALIZED NOTHING WAS THERE! JUST THE LONE GUAVA PEAL! WHAT I DON’T UNDERSTAND THOUGH IS WHY NOBODY CAME TO OUR RESCUE! THERE WERE TWO PEOPLE IN THE MEETING HOUSE! AND THEY JUST HEARD US SCREAM AND ACTED LIKE ITS A NORMAL PART OF LIFE! THANKS! GLAD THERE WASN’T A REAL SNAKE!

THURSDAY: WE THOUGHT WEDNESDAY WAS HOT! THIS WAS HOT! IT HAD TO BE ABOUT 100-105 DEGREES! WE WERE TIRED AND HAD A DAY OF CONTACTING… ALL DAY IN THE HEAT KNOCKING ON GATES! BUT WE REALIZED THAT AS WE WERE THERE THAT WE WERE PROBABLY GETTING CLOSE TO SOMEBODY WHO REALLY NEEDED TO HEAR THE MESSAGE OF THE RESTORED GOSPEL! OTHERWISE IT WOULD BE BETTER! THAT GAVE US SOME STRENGTH AND I WAS ABLE TO TAKE SOMETHING I HAD READ THAT DAY AND APPLY IT TO MY DAY! IN 2ND NEPHI CHAPTER 4 VERSES 17 TO THE END IT TALKS A LOT ABOUT US LEANING ON OUR SAVIOR FOR STRENGTH! I HAD BEEN DOING A LOT OF PRAYING LATELY AND ASKING FOR HELP AGAINST THE ADVERSARY! OUR WHOLE ZONE HAS BEEN STRUGGLING LATELY AND EVERYBODY HAS FELT VERY WEIGHED DOWN! WE DISCUSSED THAT THIS HAD TO DO WITH SATAN NOT WANTING US TO WORK! I HAVE TO ADMIT I WASN’T BEING THE BEST MISSIONARY I COULD BE! I WAS WORKING HARD BUT I COULD’VE WORKED HARDER! I FELT BAD FOR MY TIMES OF WEAKNESS AND THEN I READ THIS CHAPTER! IT WAS THE ANSWER TO MY PRAYER! THIS IS NEPHI SPEAKING:
17 …O wretched man that I am! Yea, my heart sorroweth because of my flesh; my soul grieveth because of mine iniquities.
18 I am encompassed about, because of the temptations and the sins which do so easily beset me.
19 And when I desire to rejoice, my heart groaneth because of my sins; nevertheless, I know in whom I have trusted.
THIS IS HOW I HAVE BEEN FEELING LATELY! I HAVE BEEN PRAYING FOR STRENGTH WHEN I AM EXHAUSTED! THEN AS YOU CONTINUE TO READ IT SAYS:
26 O then, if I have seen so great things, if the Lord in his condescension unto the children of men hath visited men in so much mercy, why should my heart weep and my soul linger in the valley of sorrow, and my flesh waste away, and my strength slacken, because of mine afflictions?
27 And why should I yield to sin, because of my flesh? Yea, why should I give way to temptations, that the evil one have place in my heart to destroy my peace and afflict my soul? Why am I angry because of mine enemy?
THIS JUST MADE ME REALIZE HOW MUCH POWER I HAVE! I WAS REMINDED THAT THE LORD CAN NOT FORCE ME TO BE STRENGTHENED BUT I HAVE TO ACTUALLY CHOOSE TO BE! I WAS PRAYING BUT DIDN’T REALIZE THAT I HAD TO DO MORE! I WOULD WISH FOR STRENGTH BUT IT WASN’T GIVEN TO ME BECAUSE I WASN’T WORKING FOR IT AS HARD AS I CAN! “FAITH WITH OUR WORKS IS [TRULY] DEAD.” THEN I CONTINUED:
28 Awake, my soul! No longer droop in sin. Rejoice, O my heart, and give place no more for the enemy of my soul.
29 Do not anger again because of mine enemies. Do not slacken my strength because of mine afflictions.
SO I DECIDED AT THE MOMENT I WAS WEIGHED DOWN AND ABOUT TO KNOCK ON ANOTHER GATE THAT I WASN’T GOING TO FALL AGAIN! I HAVE THE STRENGTH THE LORD GAVE ME BUT ITS UP TO ME TO USE IT.
33 O Lord, wilt thou encircle me around in the robe of thy righteousness! O Lord, wilt thou make a way for mine escape before mine enemies! Wilt thou make my path straight before me! Wilt thou not place a stumbling block in my way—but that thou wouldst clear my way before me, and hedge not up my way, but the ways of mine enemy.
35 Yea, I know that God will give liberally to him that asketh. Yea, my God will give me, if I ask not amiss; therefore I will lift up my voice unto thee; yea, I will cry unto thee, my God, the rock of my righteousness. Behold, my voice shall forever ascend up unto thee, my rock and mine everlasting God. Amen.
AND HE DID MAKE THAT WAY FOR MY ESCAPE. HOW GRATEFUL I AM NOW THAT I TOOK IT. AT THE END OF THE ROAD WE FOUND AN AMAZING FAMILY. WE TALKED TO THEM FOR A LONG TIME. I ALREADY LOVE THEM SO MUCH AND CAN NOT WAIT TO GO BACK NEXT SATURDAY! GOD TRULY ANSWERS OUR PRAYERS! IT IS AMAZING HOW HE LOVES EACH OF US SO MUCH!
AFTER VISITING WITH THAT FAMILY WE WENT TO GO CONTACT SOME MORE PEOPLE! WE WENT TO THIS ONE GATE AND THERE WAS A BUNCH OF PEOPLE DOING A TRIBAL DANCE. WE ASKED IF WE COULD WATCH. THEY SAID YES AND PULLED UP TWO CHAIRS FOR US AND PERFORMED FOR US! IT WAS SUPER SWEET! AFTER A COUPLE OF SONGS WE ASKED IF WE COULD JOIN IN! HAHA! THAT WAS FUN! SO WE DANCED WITH THEM FOR A SONG AND THEN ASKED IF WE COULD COME BACK AND TEACH THEM WHEN THEY WEREN’T BUSY. THEY ALL AGREED AND WE ARE ALL GOING TO COME BACK AND TEACH THEM NEXT FRIDAY!
AFTER THAT WE WENT TO AN INVESTIGATOR’S HOUSE! WHEN WE GOT IN THE GATE WE STARTED HEARING A HUGE CROWED RUNNING BY AND MAKING A BUNCH OF NOISE! WE WENT OUT TO SEE! IT WAS A BUNCH OF CHILDREN! ELEMENTARY AND MIDDLE SCHOOL AGE! ALL RUNNING THE STREETS AND MAKING NOISE! SO WHAT DOES ONE DO!? WELL YOU TAKE A PICTURE OF THE HUNDREDS OF CHILDREN THAT CAME OUT OF NO WHERE! EVIDENTLY THEY DIDN’T LIKE THAT THOUGH! ONE GIRL RAN UP TO ME AND SAID, “NO, THEY WILL FIGHT YOU!” THEN I WAS PUSHED BACK IN THE GATE BY MY INVESTIGATOR AND THE GATE WAS CLOSED! CHILDREN PROCEEDED TO BEAT ON THE GATE! HAHAHA IT SOUNDS SCARY WHEN YOU WRITE IT OUT! BUT REALLY IT WAS A BUNCH OF KIDS SO IT REALLY WASN’T! ALTHOUGH I AM HAPPY THAT I WAS PUSHED TO SAFETY!
WELL THAT WAS ABOUT IT! THE HIGHLIGHTS! IT WAS A GOOD WEEK! ALMOST GOT HIT BY A LOT OF CARS THOUGH! ALMOST TRAMPLED BY A POSY OF SCHOOL CHILDREN AND THEN ALMOST DEVOURED BY AND IMAGINARY MUMBA! FOUND THE LORDS STRENGTH IN ME, WHICH LED ME TO SOME SWEET PEOPLE AND THEN I GOT TO DANCE WITH SOME TRIBAL DANCERS! GREAT WEEK! 🙂
I LOVE YOU ALL! REMEMBER WHO YOU ARE! 🙂
SISTER BROWNING!

Leave a Reply

